History of the competition

In 1981, the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) in the USA began the "Formula SAE¬ģ" competition, in which around 140 student teams from all over the world compete every year. Since 1998, SAE and IMechE (Institution of Mechanical Engineers) in England have been holding the annual "Formula Student" competition, normally composed of around 70 international teams. In 2006 Australia held the sixth "Formula SAE Australaisia" with about 30 such teams. Now there are teams of young engineers in Italy, Japan and Brasil competing with each other. The competitions are conducted under nearly all the same rules and regulations, allowing the teams to participate in several different competitions with little or no modifications to their work.